Please activate JavaScript!
Please install Adobe Flash Player, click here for download

Forschungszentrum Jülich - Annual Report 2012

54 Forschungszentrum Jülich | Annual Report 2012 Knowledge Worldwide – Highlights of 2012 Georgia During a visit on the occasion of celebrations to mark the 90th anniversary of the Georgian Technical University (GTU), Prof. Sebastian M. Schmidt, member of Jülich’s Board of Directors, presented Georgian students at GTU and Tbilisi State University with certificates for three PhD and two master’s scholarships. A joint call to apply for cooperation support was published for the first time in 2012 by Forschungszentrum Jülich and the Georgian national organization for the promotion of science and research (Shota Rustaveli National Science Foundation, SRNSF). Brazil Forschungszentrum Jülich is setting up the LABEX Germany in Brazil laboratory at EMBRAPA, Brazil’s largest agricultural research company. The cooperation agreement was signed on 8 October 2012 in the presence of Annette Schavan, then Federal Minister of Education and Research. The partners are developing joint research projects in the areas of agriculture, plant phenotyping, and bioinfor- matics. In this way, Jülich is intensifying its cooperation with one of the most important countries for the bioeconomy. USA A new memorandum of understanding on supercomputing collaboration was signed with Argonne National Laboratory (ANL) in Illinois (USA). Prof. Sebastian M. Schmidt, member of Jülich’s Board of Directors, and Prof. Thomas Lippert from the Jülich Supercomputing Centre came to an understanding with their American partners to look for pathways to exascale computing. The two institutions agreed on an exchange programme as well as a joint young scientists programme. Physicists at ANL and Jülich’s Nuclear Physics Institute and Institute for Advanced Simulation are perform- ing joint research at the interface of nuclear physics and particle physics. For this work, Dr. Craig D. Roberts from Argonne received the Helmholtz International Fellow Award.